A Bittersweet Weekend, Part 1

Let’s start with the sweet. I shared my birthday with some of the people I love most in the world. My baby, husband, mom, aunt, cousin and niece! Sometimes I wish everyone I loved lived in a bubble so I could be near them all at the same time. I am so grateful for those I did get to see and can’t wait to spend time with more family in a few months for Eva’s birthday!

The weekend started off kind of crazy when we woke up Friday to find it snowing. And if didn’t stop for about 24 hours. Somewhere in there I got a beautiful flower delivery from Pierre. I love white roses because when they start to dry out the begin turning a wonderful pale yellow that I just love to look at. I told Pierre that LONG ago when we first met and he never forgets :).

IMG_2468

My mom’s plane landed Friday night (thankfully no delays!) and my niece got to see snow for the first time. It was priceless! I want to bottle up her excitement and drink some on Monday mornings ;). My aunt (one of my mom’s sister) and cousin drove down from Canada and arrived at our house about the time I came back from the airport with my people. Even though it was late, Eva woke up and wanted to join the party. Everyone took turns passing her around and giving her thousands of kisses.

D7K_3935

Saturday morning started off perfectly. My family has this thing where when we are all together we can’t possible get ready and out of the house before 11am. Pierre kind of hates that. But my family is compiled of mostly women, so what do you expect? We finally got out of the house and we had lunch at an Arabic restaurant and devoured everything, of course.

We went to the mall after that because that’s what happens in my family when 2 or more women are together. We spent some hours at the mall just walking around. Pierre gave me YET ANOTHER wonderful gift and let me buy these Steve Madden boots that I’ve been eyeing for a few weeks. They are amazing. I also bought a pair of jeans and a tanktop at Forever 21.

IMG_2510

IMG_2575

After the mall we went for sushi! I just love sushi. I could eat it every day. Pierre bought me a birthday hat and sash and made me wear it at dinner. He told me not to be embarrassed because the packaging said “for birthday girls 3 years +”. Great.

IMG_2524

IMG_2523

IMG_2586

After we stuffed our faces with sushi we arrived home to Pierre’s German chocolate cake that he made from scratch, people! I’ve told you how he feels about the kitchen. You’d think he loves it after trying this cake. It was the best cake I’ve ever had.

IMG_2590

Don’t count the candles. Not that you could considering the awful quality of this photo. 

IMG_2551

Totally ate cake on napkins that night.

Sunday was another wonderful day full of good food, laughs and sharing beautiful moments together.

D7K_4067

IMG_2603

I was so sad last night when I came home to an empty house (Pierre left for a business trip last night, too). It was a tough night but I am so glad to have shared those priceless hours with people I love. Eva fell asleep at 6:15 pm last night, she was so exhausted!

IMG_2527

Eva ate fried rice off of chop sticks. I was swelling with pride.

Sorry for so many photos! Some of them are super grainy and dark. 
IMG_2617

2 thoughts on “A Bittersweet Weekend, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Photo Friday | Chef by Invitation

Leave a Reply

