A Few of My Favorite Things

I’ve been wanting to do a post on some of my favorite things. Mainly, what I keep stocked in my pantry at all times. I’m am sorry in advance for the unbelievably unorganized state of my kitchen.

I ALWAYS have Harina P.A.N in my pantry. It’s the cornmeal used for making Arepas, which we have every Friday night. Yeah. I also always have a quick pizza crust mix, you know, for emergencies. It wouldn’t  be my house without some sort of nut butter. I have peanut butter toast every morning but I was out of peanut butter the day I snapped this photo. I always have black beans because I can add those to every meal. I also love tahini, it’s wonderful in just about everything.

Arepa

The top shelf of my fridge has a Brita filter because my water has to taste like absolutely nothing. I always have non-fat creamer for my coffee and almond milk. Is it weird that I’ve been saving that coconut water for a special occasion? I need to just drink it already.

Top shelf

I buy almond milk in bulk because it’s cheaper and, as a plus, it lasts in the fridge longer than cows milk. Also, we have a ton of hot sauce we hardly ever use. I really need to clean my fridge.

Milk

Okay, I’m sorry for my spices. Not only is the photo horrible, but it’s also just a huge cluster of stuff everywhere. I wish I had better storage in my kitchen. Anyway, these are the main spices I use regularly. Not labeled but equally as important is ground cinnamon, herbs de provence and ground ginger.Spices

I have this tower in my kitchen that I keep all of the things I don’t put in the refrigerator. Not pictured are banans (for Pierre and Eva, yuck!) and whole wheat bread. Tower

There are several other ingredients not pictured:
Fridge

  • Tomatoes
  • Olives
  • Cheese (shredded cheddar & Italian blend)
  • Greek yogurt (this is my current favorite)
  • Beets
  • Zucchini
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Kale
  • Parsley
  • Mint
  • Cilantro
  • Tempeh
  • Dark chocolate (I love to eat it when it’s cold)

Pantry

  • Quick cooking oats
  • Chickpeas
  • Whole wheat bread
  • Coffee
  • Brown sugar
  • Cheerios (honey nut and plain)
  • Quinoa
  • Jasmin rice
  • Lentils
  • Pasta (short and long)

Freezer

  • Blueberries / mixed fruit
  • Asparagus
  • Green beans
  • Edemame
  • Garlic bread
  • Bread (I always buy two loaves at a time)
  • Veggie Patch falafel
  • Morning Star ‘bacon’

I’m sure I missed something but that’s all for now. Is there anything your kitchen can’t survive without?

 

Leave a Reply

