Olive Tapenade

Unfortunately, I think I have the flu. I’m a little irritated considering I got the flu show not long ago. I know it doesn’t protect you from all strains but I’m still mad about it. I can’t wait to feel better! The good news is that I have ups and downs with how I’m feeling so I can share a little something with you while I’m on an up.

D7K_4230

Olive Tapenade
Makes approx. 1 cup

1 cup Kalamata olives, pitted (about 20)
1 garlic clove, cut into pieces
1 tbsp capers
3 – 4 Anchovy filets, or 2 tsp anchovy paste*
1/2 cup packed fresh parsley
2 tbsp lime juice
1/4 extra virgin olive oil

Add all the ingredients except for the olive oil into a food processor. Turn on the processor and slowly stream in the olive oil. This may take some time, you may need to stop the processor, scrape down the sides and repeat. You may not need all the oil, either, just enough to get everything together. You can let the processor go until your desired consistency, I prefer it  a little chunky.

D7K_4258

A little goat cheese never hurt anyone.

This is really versatile! You can eat it on crackers or mix it into some rice. You could even top a salmon filet and bake it for a quick and easy dinner. I really like that this recipe comes together really fast. You don’t need to add any additional salt or pepper because you don’t want to take away from the flavors already present. Olives and capers are salty all on their own. 
D7K_4225

*The anchovy is completely optional but I do believe it adds a delicious saltiness. It is not fishy at all! You should give it a try!

One thought on “Olive Tapenade

  1. Pingback: Goat Cheese + Tapenade Linguini | Chef by Invitation

Leave a Reply

