For Your Valentine

I’m breaking all of the rules today. I don’t have anything with sprinkles or frosting or even chocolate. But I did find a recipe that is so delicious  and it will have  your Valentine licking their fingers. Or yours if you’re the one feeding them ;). I owe this wonderful recipe to Kristi of 30 Pounds of Apples.

D7K_4402Let me tell you a short little story. I loooove fries. I could eat them every day, breakfast, lunch or dinner. My absolute favorite fries are from Five Guys. I’d go there for the burgers (when I ate meat) but I really just looked forward to the fries. Crisp and crunchy on the outside but light and fluffy on the inside. This recipe is just that! Start the potatoes in a cold pot with cold oil, then poach and finally, crank up the heat to get that delicious exterior. I immediately wanted more.

The sad thing is that I wanted to pair these fries with beer battered fish and do a fish & chips night. Well, Pierre someone forgot to pick up beer so I improvised. And failed miserably. The batter, if you could even call it that, was falling completely off. I’m a little embarrassed to show you this photo but I just love my new baskets and dip cups. I want to use them for every meal. A fail in the kitchen just means I get to try again and use my baskets!

D7K_4405Serve with malt vinegar.

Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope you share it with someone you love.

 

One thought on “For Your Valentine

  1. Pingback: Currently. | Chef by Invitation

Leave a Reply

