Quick Veggie & Rice Bowl

Here’s a fun story. D7K_4444Sunday night I stood in the middle of my kitchen, hands on hips, staring. We were starving and I had absolutely no clue what to make for dinner. I was begging Pierre to give me some idea of what he was in the mood for but that was a dead end. I hadn’t been to the grocery store so we were lacking in many pantry items, meaning that most Foodgawker recipes were out of the question. In all of my hanger I grabbed all the veggies I could find in the fridge and hoped for the best.

D7K_4440Quick Veggies & Rice Bowl
Serves 2 – 4

4 – 6 cups of veggies, cut about the same size. I used:

  • Zucchini
  • Peppers
  • Tomato
  • Mushrooms

2 cups shredded cabbage
1 cup shelled edemame, I used frozen
1 large garlic clove, thinly sliced
2 scallions, sliced
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tsp cornstarch
1/2 cup vegetable stock
1 tsp sesame oil
Pepper
1 tsp olive oil
2 cups cooked Jasmine rice

In a large skillet heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the scallion and garlic to the oil and saute until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Next, add the vegetables that will take the longest to cook, I added the mushrooms and pepper and cooked them until they were slightly softened. Next, I added the zucchini and tomato. While the veggies cook, mix the soy sauce, vinegar, sesame oil and corn starch in a small bowl. Pour the mixture over the veggies and, working quickly, stir until the mixture thickens (could take up to 1 minute but for me it was instant*) and then immediately add the stock and lower the heat to medium. Once the stock has thickened, turn off the heat and add the edemame and cabbage. Stir for another minute or so, until the cabbage wilts and the edemame is heated through. Season with pepper to your taste, pour over rice and serve hot. 
D7K_4446

This turned out so well, I can’t wait to make it again!

*cornstarch thickens when added to heat. The best way to use it is to dissolve it in a room temperature liquid and then adding it to a hot food or sauce. Once the mixture boils, the cornstarch is activated and will thicken whatever it was added to. If you find this recipe too thick (the goal is a thin glaze) simply add more stock until you’ve reached the desired viscosity. If it’s too thin just mix a little more cornstarch with stock and add it until you’ve reached your desired viscosity.

One thought on “Quick Veggie & Rice Bowl

  1. Pingback: Photo Friday | Chef by Invitation

Leave a Reply

