Three Bean Chili

We got a bunch of snow dumped on us last week, how about you? I like snow but I am so ready to live at the beach again. I am a beach bum through and through. The funny thing is that I begged Pierre to get a job ‘up north’ when we were engaged. I had been living in Florida for 7 years and wanted the seasons in my life. Oh, how I regret those words now. Ugh. Pierre always laughs when I say “WHY IS IT SO COLD?”. So I made you chili to warm you up. And I put booze in it.
D7K_4653

Three Bean Chili
Serves 2 – 4

1 small onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
3 cups mushrooms, cleaned, stems removed and chopped
1/2 cup red pepper, seeds removed and chopped small
1/2 cup each canned red kidney beans, cannellini beans & black beans, drained & rinsed well
1/2 cup red wine*
2 tbsp tomato paste
2 cups vegetable stock
1 tsp each ground cumin, chili powder & smoked paprika
salt & pepper to taste
2 tsp olive oil

Toppings (optional)
Lime juice
Fresh avocado
Chopped cilantro
Crushed tortilla chips
Fresh parsley
Fresh oregano
Sour cream
Greek yogurt
Shredded cheddar cheese
Crumbled bacon
Shredded chicken or steak

In a large stock pot or, Dutch oven, heat the olive oil until it ripples over medium high heat. Add the onion and garlic, cooking until they are fragrant  Be careful the garlic doesn’t burn, this can happen really quickly. Next, add the mushrooms. Saute everything together until you see brown bits forming on the bottom of the pot. Add the tomato paste and stir.

D7K_4650Add the red wine and scrape all the bits off the bottom of the pot with a wooden spoon or rubber spatula. When the wine starts to reduce, add the beans and red peppers.
D7K_4651

This is what you want. Nice and thick. MMM. Add the stock and spices along with the salt & pepper.

D7K_4654

D7K_4657

Bring everything to a simmer over medium heat for about 20 minutes. The chili will thicken and reduce slightly.

D7K_4680

I love this chili but I think I like the toppings even more. I chose fresh cilantro, avocado and fresh lime juice. And cheese, lots of cheese.

D7K_4704

D7K_4709

And of course Pierre wouldn’t accept this dinner without garlic bread on the side. I also crumbled bacon on his.D7K_4714

*I used some Pinot Noir that I had around the house but you can use any red wine you like. If you don’t want to use red wine you can substitute it for more stock.

Leave a Reply

