Quinoa Taboulie Zucchini Boats

I can say with 100% certainty that this is one of my all time favorite recipes. Ever.  I talked about my obsession with taboulie a long time ago. Please excuse my sorry excuse for a photo in that post, whoa. Anyway, I actually make and eat taboulie about 5 times a week. Eva loves it and now that I’ve made it over a million times in my life, I can pretty much make it in 10 minutes or less for a quick lunch.

D7K_6903

D7K_6908As a die hard taboulie lover I can tell you that the store bought stuff doesn’t appeal to me and when restaurants add ingredients that, in my opinion, have absolutely no business in taboulie, it makes me mad (I’m looking at you, cucumber). Well, I broke my own rule and added quinoa. In my defense this isn’t taboulie with quinoa in it, it’s more like quinoa with taboulie flavors. It helps me sleep at night.

D7K_6904Quinoa Taboulie Zucchini Boats
Serves 2 – 4

4 mini zucchini (about 6 in in length), cut lengthwise and pulp removed*
1/2 cup cooked quinoa, any color (I made 1/2 dry white and red combo and ended up with about a cup total because I like having cooked quinoa in the fridge for quick meals)
1/2 cup tomato, chopped and seeded
1 tbsp onion or scallion, chopped
1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, chopped
1 tbsp fresh mint, chopped
Juice of one lemon
1 tsp olive oil
salt to taste
Feta cheese or parmesan cheese, optional

Preheat the oven to 425º F. Mix all the ingredients together and fill the zucchini boats.

D7K_6909 Bake on a baking sheet, with a little cooking spray or olive oil, for 15 – 18 minutes and serve hot! Sprinkle a little cheese on top for some added amazing flavor.

D7K_6915

*Carefully scoop out the zucchini pulp with a spoon. Try and get as much out as possible without tearing the outer skin. Don’t throw away the pulp! It’s great to add into any veggie stir fry or salad. I actually made a pasta sauce and tossed some right into the pot. Also, these were pretty tender for I left the tops on but feel free to chop those off if you’d like.

One thought on “Quinoa Taboulie Zucchini Boats

  1. Pingback: Lemon Feta Mahi Mahi | Chef by Invitation

Leave a Reply

