Bibimbap [and an embarrassing story]

I know you clicked on this because of the story but first, this:

IMG_2795I am a huge fan of Asian flavors and Korean food if pretty high up on the list. When we lived in Baltimore there was an Asian market called Lotte that we went to fairly often. They have almost a cafeteria set-up in the back with about 6 or 7 little ‘restaurants’ surrounding a small seating area. One of the last times we were there, Pierre ordered a rice bowl with crispy beef and vegetables served in a hot stone bowl. I’ll never forget the feeling of disappointment I had when I realized I would only have a few bites because it wasn’t what I ordered. I loved it! The thing I loved most about the dish was the few crispy grains of rice you’d get with each bite intermixed with fluffy rice. I finally, after 2+ years, know that it was Bibimbap!

Bibimbap
Serves 2 – 4

4 cups cooked Jasmin rice
2 zucchini, cut into 2″ matchsticks
1 yellow bell pepper, cut into 2″ matchsticks
6 scallions, rough cut on a diagonal
8 – 10 white button mushrooms, steps removed and thinly sliced
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 large garlic clove, grated
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
2 tbsp fresh lime juice
1/2 avocado, thinly sliced
2 – 4 eggs, cooked to your liking (optional)
Sriracha (optional)

A few notes to keep in mind:

  • This recipe works better with day old rice because it tends to be a bit drier but I made the rice the same day and it still worked for me.
  • Gather all of your ingredients and have them ready, this recipe cooked quickly!
  • When you crisp the rice you want to use a skillet large enough to have the rice in a thin, even layer. You can work in batches, I did.
  • You can cook all the vegetables together with the marinade! I cooked them seperatly because I wanted to layer them in the bowl in groups. Also, you can use any vegetable you like.

First, mix the soy sauce, lime juice, garlic and ginger in a small bowl and set aside with a teaspoon handy.

Next, add the rice to a large skillet over medium high heat. It may not take long for the rice to crisp depending on it’s moisture content. Stir it occasionally but always patting it down to a single layer afterwards. Once about half of the rice has started to brown, turn off the heat and set aside.

While the rice crisps, add one type of vegetable at a time to large skillet over high heat (a wok would be great for this) along with 2 tsp of the marinade. Sautee for one minute or until the edges begin to brown, set aside and add another type of vegetable, continue until all the vegetables are cooked.

Layer the rice in a bowl surrounded by the vegetables, avocado, 1 egg and sriracha.

D7K_7347

I had a scrambled egg under there somewhere.

D7K_7349

Pierre had an over-easy egg.

Here’s where the story comes in. You’ll notice that the above and below photo have a DIRTY bowl. You see, first I made just enough for the two of us. I’m talking JUST enough. We were still hungry when we finished so I got up and made dinner AGAIN. Same dinner. Twice. Fatty status. D7K_7354

Worth it.

**Simply omit the egg to make this dish vegan.

One thought on “Bibimbap [and an embarrassing story]

  1. Pingback: Seared Tuna Toast | Chef by Invitation

Leave a Reply

