Seared Tuna Toast

Sounds odd but it will blow your socks off. Not everyone can get down with raw tuna. I am not one of those people.

D7K_7326

It all started when I wanted to grill tuna steaks but was craving something ‘different’. This is sometimes a scary moment for me because I can either make something amazing or have to call for take out. I love to experiment but sometimes I’m too scared that I’ll fail. Fear of failure.. isn’t that super common? I’m glad I took the plunge this time, it was totally worth it.

Seared Tuna Toast
Serves 2 – 4

6 – 10 oz ahi tuna steaks, about 1 inch thick
6 slices of whole wheat baguette  sliced about 1/2 inch thick
1/2 avocado, thinly sliced
salt & pepper to taste
Soy dressing (my favorite! I know I use this sauce a lot but feel free to change it up! A lot of the flavor for this dish comes from the sauce so if you’d like to try something else go for it! I would also recommend a chimichurri for this)

Season the tuna with salt & pepper and cook a hot grill (or non-stick skillet) for 3 – 4 minutes on each side, until it begins to caramelize. Remove from the heat and set aside. Grill (or roast) the bread to toast for a few minutes. Once the tuna steaks have had time to cool slightly, thinly slice on a diagonal. Layer the avocado on top of the toast followed by the sliced tuna and top with the sauce.
D7K_7331

I can’t wait to make this again and try a different sauce! I love that this recipe screams summer in your face.

D7K_7334

Leave a Reply

