Smoked Salmon Grilled Cheese

I have to pat myself on the back for this one. We loved every last bite.

20130718-103755.jpg
The only thing is that I totally blanked when I was cutting the bread and I cut it too thin. I was going to use bagels but the grocery store had HOT FRESH Italian bread just hanging out by the entrance. How rude.

Smoked Salmon Grilled Cheese
Bagels or your favorite bread
2-4 oz smoked salmon
Cream cheese, I use reduced-fat
2-3 oz Gruyere cheese, thinly sliced
1 tbsp capers
1/2 tbsp chopped onion, I used shallot
Butter

Assemble the sandwiches to your liking! That’s the best part, you can add more cheese or more onion. Butter both sides of the bread and grill in a skillet over medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes on each side, or until the cheese is melted. I used a heavy skillet on top to press the sandwich down, you could even but this in a panini press.

Leave a Reply

