Avocado + Roasted Chickpea Spaghetti

This pregnancy has really beaten me up so far. I was very sick in the beginning but it is tapering off some. The sleepiness and exhaustion? Wow. I could sleep all day long and lay around and do nothing.

Maybe it’s from all the carbs? It seemed that for the first 9 weeks that’s all my body wanted. Pasta, baked potatoes, pizza, a loaf of bread. Really exciting blog stuff, huh? I’m happy to report that the last two weeks or so I’ve been actually craving vegetables and salad. YAY!

I made this pasta when I was still on my carb kick but I’d make it again and again even if I wasn’t.

Avocado + Roasted Chickpea Spaghetti
Serves 2 – 4

1/2 lb – 3/4 lb uncooked pasta, I used thin spaghetti
1/2 can chickpeas, drained & rinsed
1 cup zucchini, thinly sliced whatever shape you like, lightly sauteed with cooking spray and salt
1 large avocado, about 3/4 cup of flesh
1 garlic clove, grated
1 lemon, juice and zest
3 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
Salt, to taste
Olive oil

Toss the chickpeas in a very light coating of olive oil and salt and roast in a 400F oven for 15 minutes, or until slightly browned. Set aside.

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of water to a boil, add salt and cook the pasta until tender. Drain but reserve about 1/2 cup of the starchy cooking water, return to pot, toss in a light coating of olive oil and set aside.

In a large bowl mash the avocado to your desired consistency. Add the garlic, lemon juice and zest. Slowly add the water while stirring until it reaches a smooth texture, add salt to taste. Add the pasta, zucchini, basil and chickpeas and stir.

IMG_4515

Serve it up pretty for your husband with bread on the side.

IMG_4516

Or in a heaping mess for yourself.

IMG_4518

Either way this is amazing.

*This can be made vegan by using a vegan pasta product

Leave a Reply

