Pretzel Crusted Chicken Tenders

Hi! I don’t know how two weeks went by this fast but they did! Sorry I’ve been MIA. My dad came to visit two weeks ago and I hadn’t seen him in over 2 years! I didn’t want anything to get in the way of us spending some quality time together so I just decided to not post. We cooked so much great food though! I’ll be sure to tell you about that at a later date. Fast forward to last week, the kids and I came down with a serious cold. We didn’t leave the house AT ALL. It was terrible but now we’re all much better and I’m back in the kitchen. Pretzel Crusted Chicken Tenders // Pancake Saturday

Which is good news for you because I made these amazing chicken tenders last night that you need to make tonight. Like, seriously, tonight. I wanted to follow one of Jessica’s recipes from her glorious cookbook but, in true Jamily fashion, it was a snap decision and I didn’t have all of the ingredients so I improvised a bit. Pretzel Crusted Chicken Tenders // Pancake Saturday

I didn’t have chicken tenders on hand, and honestly I don’t recall a time I’ve actually bought them. But after trying this recipe I think I’m going to make the sacrifice ;). Jessica’s recipe calls for chicken tenders but I just cut up two chicken breasts in about the size of tenders. It worked perfectly!

Pretzel Crusted Chicken Tenders with Honey Mustard
Serves 2 – 4, adapted from Seriously Delish

2 chicken breasts, trimmed of fat & cut into 4 pieces of equal thickness
2 cups low-fat buttermilk*
3 cups salted pretzels, I always buy Snyder’s
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
Cooking spray
1/3 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 cup honey

Add the chicken to a bowl and cover with buttermilk. Allow to sit covered in the refrigerator for 2 – 4 hours, overnight would be best.

Preheat the oven to 425F and take the chicken out of the fridge. Line a baking sheet with foil and place a wire rack on top, lightly spray with non-stick pray. Add the pretzels to a food processor and grind to fine crumbs, add to large bowl. With a fork take the chicken out of the buttermilk (it will have a thick coating of buttermilk), one piece at a time, and coat it with the pretzel crumbs. Shake off any excess and place the chicken on the wire rack, spray the chicken with a light coating of non-stick spray

Pretzel Crusted Chicken Tenders // Pancake Saturday

Bake for 15 minutes, gently flip each piece and bake for another 10 minutes. While the chicken cooks mix the mustard and honey in  small bowl. Serve the chicken warm with honey mustard. Pretzel Crusted Chicken Tenders // Pancake Saturday

Pretzel Crusted Chicken Tenders // Pancake Saturday

I paired these with the perfect french fries, too! Please tell me you’ll make these!

*If you don’t have any buttermilk you can make your own by thinning out some plain Greek yogurt with water until it’s the viscosity of buttermilk. Works like a charm!

Leave a Reply

