Kale Pesto

I are you sick of kale yet? I sure hope not.

Kale Pesto // Pancake Saturday

I get it. Kale is everywhere, in everything, you don’t even want to look at it anymore. But hear me out. You know how I have a bunch of kids and a husband that travels a lot for work? I love recipes that I can use in everything, for any meal at any time of the day, and this is just that. Let’s take a minute and read over some of the things you could use this kale pesto in. And I’m positive I’m missing some.

Kale Pesto // Pancake Saturday

  • Over eggs in the morning or on a breakfast sandwich
  • Mixed into breakfast hash
  • Salad dressing
  • Grilled cheese (!!!)
  • Dipper for roasted veggies/fries
  • Sub for regular tomato pizza sauce
  • Spoon over chicken or fish
  • As a marinade for chicken, seafood or even tofu
  • Tossed with any pasta
  • Pesto lasagna – um, hello?

I could keep listing things. And the health benefits! I know you’ve heard all about them but just in case you haven’t here’s the rundown: tons of iron, vitamin A, calcium and fiber. Eat your kale.

Kale Pesto // Pancake Saturday

I know some of you will say that it’s bitter or that you don’t like the way it tastes. But there’s cheese in this so that kind of makes everything better, right? Also, the lemon juice and zest helps cut the bitter undertones kale has sometimes and brightens up the whole thing. Works perfectly.

Kale Pesto
Yields approx. 1 cup

4 cups chopped kale, about 1 medium bunch, ribs removed
1/3 cup toasted pine nuts
1 large garlic clove, roughly chopped
2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese (I used the kind out of the green shaker – don’t judge me)
2 tsp lemon zest
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp salt, or to taste
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

Add all the ingredients, except for the oil, to a food processor. Turn it on a slowly stream in the oil. DONE. This will keep in the freezer for up to 4 weeks.

Kale Pesto // Pancake Saturday
Kale Pesto // Pancake Saturday

Kale Pesto // Pancake Saturday

Leave a Reply

