What We Ate – Dad Edition

I mentioned last week that I’d share some of the things we ate while my dad was in town so that’s that I’m gonna do!

If you would have asked me 10 years ago who I’m more like, my mom or my dad, I would have told you, “My mom”, without skipping a beat. I’ve always thought that I was more like her because that’s what most people that know us both tell me, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. If you were to ask me the same question today I’d answer differently. My dad and I are very similar and I’m a little sad to admit that it’s taken me this long to realize it. My dad and I have similar temperament and our sense of humor is the same, too. We view problems the same way and I think we both like to avoid conflict, as much as we’d like to deny that fact. We both have strong faith in people as well as God and we’re excellent homebodies. Also, we’re both severely addicted to coffee which I’m pretty sure is genetic in our case. Having him here in my home and actually speaking in person versus on the phone or over FaceTime (he lives in Venezuela so we only see each other every few years) was a huge blessing for our family.

One of the things that makes my heart super happy is that over the years my dad has developed a passion for cooking! I remember when I was young and we were still living under the same roof, my dad liked to cook dinner once in a while. My mom handled most of the cooking around the house so I guess it was just on special occasions that he actually got to cook. I consider myself a very fortunate person, I grew up in a household that had two parents who cooked healthy, delicious meals for us kids every day. Never from a box, always fresh and we very rarely went to restaurants or did take-out. Cooking and talking about food is just another awesome thing my dad and I have in common. So here’s what we ate, in no particular order.

A few days before he got here he turned 60! WHAT? So I greeted him at my home with a fresh batch of fried chicken. I don’t think I’ve ever really made fried chicken before. Maybe I’ve tried to ‘fry’ chicken but not the real deal stuff. Well, this is it. It was delicious! I fried it in our cast iron pan and all! I felt very legit. Forgive the photo, it just doesn’t do it justice. I served the chicken with sad-looking biscuits, mashed potatoes and green beans on the side, how Southern of me.

Crispy Fried Chicken // Pancake Saturday I’ve talked to you about arepas before, right? If you haven’t had one in your life then you’re seriously missing out. In Venezuela, arepas are a staple in your house just as sandwich bread would be. You can do anything with them, do you hear me? ANYTHING! And my dad taught me a new way – he added toasted sesame seeds and ground flaxseed to the mix! I was so excited to try them and they tasted so good! We stuffed them with cheese (duh), avocado and slow roasted pork from the previous nights’ tacos.

untitled-44

Sesame Seed & Flaxseed Arepa // Pancake Saturday Of course we had to bust out a Pancake Saturday staple – pancakes and bacon!untitled-134 One of the days he was here it wasn’t so cold that we could bust out the grill! I was so excited to use it one last time before winter. I grilled ribeye steaks because in my opinion, if it isn’t a ribeye then you’re wasting your time. I roasted cauliflower and made baked sweet potatoes. My dad wanted to learn how to make egg-less Caesar dressing from scratch so we followed this recipe that I had made once before and it doesn’t disappoint. untitled-137
My dad also wanted to learn about spaghetti squash and kale and how to make chili so we did all of those things, too. Once he left Eva and I were so sad we had to make pumpkin muffins to make ourselves feel better. untitled-174We had such a wonderful time with my dad here, I actually made him extend his trip by 2 days before he went off to Atlanta to visit my brother, I didn’t want to let him go!

So that’s what we ate. And if you’re wondering, yes I gained 20 pounds while he was here. So much food.

Leave a Reply

