What We Ate – Cousin Edition

Here’s another post where I tell you about the embarrassing amount of food I consumed in one weekend.

We started with Arepas because who wouldn’t? I made a quick guasacaca from scratch and it was amazing, we added it to almost every meal throughout the weekend. I only used avocados, garlic, onion, salt and red wine vinegar and it was perfect.

What We Ate // Pancake Saturday

What We Ate // Pancake Saturday

That same morning we got the boneless pork ribs in the crockpot for the tacos we were planing for dinner. It was just pork ribs, a bottle of beer, cumin, smoked paprika, onion powder, garlic powder and salt. Cooked slow for 10 hours and then shredded. Topped with my very favorite cilantro slaw (cabbage, cilantro, lime juice and salt), shredded cheese and more of that guasacaca. I drape the tortillas through a few of the slats on the oven rack and they toast in the perfect shape for tacos.

What We Ate // Pancake Saturday

We also prepared a big batch of sangria – it was so good. I’d never made my own so I owe that to my cousin, it was easy! Just a bunch of fruit and sweet red wine in a pitcher left to marinade in the fridge for a few hours. What We Ate // Pancake SaturdayThe next day we decided to make a mini Thanksgiving! After having Arepas for breakfast again (this time with eggs and bacon as the filling), we headed to the mall for a little while. We accidentally bought this bucket of mini donuts. UGH. In Alex’s defense, she only had one little donut. I can’t say the same for myself.

What We Ate // Pancake SaturdayWhat We Ate // Pancake Saturday

Later that day we got started on Thanksgiving and made my favorite stuffing muffins or Alex, mashed potatoes for Mr. HC, a whole roasted chicken (turkey is my least favorite Thanksgiving dish), and green beans. You can tell from the photos that it was super informal.


What We Ate // Pancake SaturdayWhat We Ate // Pancake Saturday

Sunday we went to church and after leaving Mr. HC home with the twins we headed to lunch just Eva, Alex and I. We went Hayden’s Grill & Pub in Canton and ordered fried pickles, coconut shrimp and jalapeno cheese dip  for appetizers, A bruschetta burger for Alex and an osso bucco pork Cuban sandwich for me. The food was delicious. Those fried pickles have my heart.

What We Ate // Pancake Saturday

What We Ate // Pancake Saturday What We Ate // Pancake SaturdayWe can’t forget the Dream Bars we made the second she got off the plane. We polished those off by the end of the weekend. No shame. 
What We Ate // Pancake SaturdaySo there you have it. I eat too much.

Leave a Reply

