Spinach & Feta Smashed Potatoes

Say hello to your new favorite Thanksgiving side dish.

Spinach & Feta Smashed Potatoes // Pancake Saturday

Or your main dish. Hey, I won’t judge you for eating just this on Thanksgiving. I love potatoes. I could eat them in any shape or form. If there’s a potato involved – I’m eating it. French fries are probably my favorite because hello! They’re fried. Now that we’re almost to Thanksgiving I’ve asked Mr. HC about a thousand times what he wanted for dinner that night. We’re spending the holiday just the 5 of us and since there are only 2 adults consuming the majority of the meal I thought I’d just let him pick our menu. And while his answer is almost always “whatever you want”, the absolute worst answer you could give someone who loves to cook for others, I know he loves mashed potatoes on special occasions. I definitely won’t turn them away but I know I’m in the minority when I say I like them chunky. Yes, I said it. I like chunky mashed potatoes.

Spinach & Feta Smashed Potatoes // Pancake Saturday

These are a nice balance smooth and chunky. A great compromise for us. Red potatoes naturally have a lot of water in them so they tend to be pretty smooth to begin with. Add butter and some fat-free half and half, spinach (for health reasons of course – see, I’m looking out for you!) and some salty delicious feta cheese and you’ve got yourself a winning dish.

Spinach & Feta Smashed Potatoes
Serves 2-4

6-8 small red potatoes (I like them with the skin on but you can peel them if you prefer it that way)
1 tbsp butter
2 tbsp fat-free half & half
2 cups chopped baby spinach
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
salt & pepper to taste (remember the feta cheese is salty so you may want to go easy on the salt or skip it all together)

Add the potatoes to a medium pot with a tight-fitting lid and cover the potatoes with cold water and cover with the lid. Bring the water to a boil. When the potatoes are done you will be able to stick the tip of a knife in them and it will slide easily off.

Drain the potatoes and place back in the same pot and put them on the same range, making sure the heat is off. The additional heat trapped in the potatoes and pot will evaporate any of the water left on the potatoes. After you notice all the water has evaporated, give each potato one or two smashes with a fork. The idea here is to break the potato open but not mashing it completely. You’ll have big and small pieces.

Add all the remaining ingredients and gently stir, being careful not break them. Serve hot.

Spinach & Feta Smashed Potatoes // Pancake Saturday

Leave a Reply

