Chicken Stuffed Baked Potato

I’ve never been that person that orders a baked potato at a restaurant or even crave a baked potato. French fries, sure. Roasted potatoes, definitely. Kind of strange, I guess. Well, I had some rotisserie chicken leftover from when I made the puffs this week and some russet potatoes, too and decided to put them together. This recipe turned out really delicious, filling and it’s SO versatile. You can literally season the chicken how ever you want.

Chicken Stuffed Baked Potato
Serves 2

2 russet potatoes
1 cooked chicken breast diced, I used a rotisserie chicken
1/4 cup barbeque sauce, I used Jack Daniel’s Original No. 7 Recipe
1/4 sour cream
1 tsp chili powder
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
Salt
Pepper
Butter
3 wedges of Laughing Cow Swiss cheese, shredded cheddar cheese would have been great if I had any..

Preheat the oven to 375F. Bake the potatoes until the are tender. Honestly, I took the easy way out and wrapped them in plastic wrap before putting them in the microwave for about 15 minutes. Whatever works for you!  But you still need the oven on for the finale.

While the potatoes cook, add the chicken, bbq sauce, sour cream, and spices to a bowl and mix. This is really the point in the recipe where you could change things up. You could use different seasonings to change the overall flavor of the filling. You could also add fresh herbs or chopped fresh spinach. Pierre and I think this would have tasted really great with some chopped jalapeno in the mix. Get creative. And then tell me about it because I need help in that area sometimes!

Once your potatoes are cooked through, split lengthwise, careful not to burn yourself, and gently fluff the inside of the potato with a fork. Add a few pats of butter to each half and top with chicken filling.

This would be the part where you would take the shredded cheese but, of course, I was unprepared. I used 3 wedges of Laughing Cow Swiss cheese and I melted them in the microwave for about 30 seconds. Then I just smeared the cheese over the filling. I’m so technical, I know.

Lastly, pop the stuffed potatoes in the oven for about 10 minutes to heat the filling through and crisp up the outside of the potato. I served the potatoes with green beans. SO. GOOD.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment