Veggie & Brat Breakfast Bake

WOW – it’s been a LOOONG time since I’ve posted anything on here! I’ve been busy eating and and not taking photos of what I’ve been consuming. I’m sorry. I haven’t been cooking much since all baby wants is French fries. Don’t worry, I haven’t been giving in EVERY time ;).

This morning I was in the mood for a yummy breakfast and I had one lonely bratwurst left over from last night’s dinner. I woke up super early because I passed out on the couch last night at an embarrassing time. Pierre was still sleeping so I got up and got to work so baby and I he’d have a nice hot breakfast ready when he awoke.

I’m so nice, I know.

This recipe is super versatile. You can use any kind of meat you’d like, get creative! Also any veggies and cheese are a go. It’s really just a method.

Veggie & Brat Breakfast Bake
Serves 4 (or two and a half very hungry people)

  • 1 medium potato cubed small, I used a Russett
  • 1/4 red onion, sliced
  • 1/2 cup broccoli florets, cut small
  • 1 Roma tomato, seeds removed, diced small
  • 1 cooked bratwurst, chopped
  • 3 slices Munster cheese
  • 1 egg plus 4 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup fat-free half & half
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • Cooking spray
  • Parmesan cheese, shredded (who am I kidding, I use the fake kind in the green container)

Start by preheating the oven to 357F. Spray a medium skillet with cooking spray and add the butter. Place the skillet over medium-high heat and allow the butter to melt.Image I have to say, I use butter very rarely when I cook… it smelled so GOOD.

Chop the veggies.
Image

Image

Image

Image

*I quartered the tomato first to remove the seeds the I chopped it up.

Add the veggies to the skillet as you are chopping. It doesn’t really matter what order you add the veggies into the skillet as long as the potatoes are first. You want to make sure you are getting them cooked at least 3/4 of the way through before putting them in the oven.

Lastly, I added the bratwurst.

Image

Image

I added salt, pepper and garlic powder and allowed everything to cook and brown up for about 5 – 7 minutes.

ImageI forgot to snap a pic of the eggs but I just cracked all the eggs into a bowl, added salt and pepper and the half & half. I whisked to incorporate all the ingredients. I lathered an 8 x 8 baking dish with cooking spray and added the veggies. Now, I didn’t have shredded cheese (which would be ideal for this dish) so I tore up some Munster cheese slices I had in the fridge. Then I poured the egg mixture over the veggies and finished it off with a nice sprinkle of Parmesan cheese for an extra salty crust.

Image

Image

I baked the eggs for 15 minutes and then popped the broiler on for about 3 minutes to get a little color on our cheese.

ImageOH MY. This was so good! I served it up pretty simply with just a couple slices of toast. Pierre was very happy when he woke up and baby had been squirming around every since. I’d say she’s a fan :).

Oh yeah! In case you didn’t know! We are having a baby girl! I was super convinced it was a boy – not a doubt in my mind. It was quite a shock but we are SO happy! I can’t wait to see her little face :).

Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment